Get SAL Updates
Donate Today
Shopping Cart
SAL Season
Literary\Arts Series
Poetry Series
SAL Presents
SAL U
SAL Season

SAL's 16/17 Season was announced on the evening of April 21st! Subscriptions are now on sale. Last season the Literary Arts Series sold out for the first time ever. We look forward to continuing that momentum, to more milestones, to inspiring new connections, and to presenting the best writers and most critical conversations of our time. Become a SAL subscriber and be an integral part of SAL's vibrant literary community.

Order online or by phone at 206.621.2230 x 10.

Box Office - Buy Tickets Here
Literary\Arts Series  Literary\Arts Series - More Info

The Literary Arts Series presents original talks by six outstanding authors whose works range from multi-award-winning novels and short stories to social commentaries and biographies. 

Ann Patchett
Mon, Sep 19, 2016
Timothy Egan
Wed, Oct 26, 2016
Helen Macdonald
Wed, Feb 1, 2017
Ben Fountain
Wed, Mar 1, 2017
Bryan Stevenson
Tue, Mar 28, 2017
Helen Oyeyemi
Tue, Apr 25, 2017
 
Poetry Series  Poetry Series - More Info
The Poetry Series presents the best-established and emerging voices for readings and lectures, and will continue to include a lecture co-presented with the Bagley Wright Lecture Series on Poetry. Poetry Series events will be held at the Nesholm Family Lecture Hall at McCaw Hall.
Ada Limón
Wed, Oct 5, 2016
Rachel Zucker
Mon, Nov 14, 2016
Ellen Bass
Tue, Feb 28, 2017
Ross Gay
Tue, Feb 7, 2017
Alice Notley
Wed, Apr 5, 2017
Carl Phillips
Tue, May 2, 2017
 
SAL Presents  SAL Presents - More Info

SAL Presents' events include authors and prominent thinkers discussing their latest work.

Women You Need to Know, is a three part series that showcases cutting edge, thought provoking and inspiring women. 

Hinge features readings, lectures, and other presentations by emerging and experimental writers in intimate settings.

Local Voices is an evening with SAL's WITS resident writers reading from their own work.

Local Voices
Tue, Nov 1, 2016
Marina Abramovic
Fri, Nov 18, 2016
Local Voices
Wed, Jan 18, 2017
A Tiny Sense
Fri, Feb 17, 2017
Roxane Gay
Wed, Feb 22, 2017
Local Voices
Wed, Apr 26, 2017
Emily Nussbaum
Thu, May 4, 2017
The Moth Mainstage
Wed, May 17, 2017
 
SAL U  SAL U - More Info

After many years of outstanding, stimulating, and diverse programming we are sunsetting SAL U. Thank you to everyone who supported and participated in the series over the years.